Webinars

Tourism and international relations after COVID19

Monday, 19th April 2021 at 14:00 (EST)

Robert Lanquar

Director Research Center (SARCEO)

Border closures and health restrictions have reduced the number of international tourist arrivals to less than a quarter in 2020 and early 2021. The recovery will occur when advances in vaccination against COVID19 make travel safer. Yet how will negotiations for the reopening of international tourism resume when states are increasingly leaning towards their national tourism? Is the UNWTO position firmly believe in the resilience of tourism the right one? How will airlines renegotiate the rules, duties and taxes related to freedoms set out in the Chicago Convention?  How will cruise berthing and disembarking freedoms be redesigned? On criteria such as environmental impacts or over-tourism in Venice, Barcelona, Nice or elsewhere? How will border formalities evolve beyond security against terrorism? How can cross-border cooperation develop to consolidate synergies between neighbouring border territories? Experts participating in this webinar will try to answer these questions.

Will teleworking disrupt soft skills and corporate leadership?

Monday, 24th May 2021 at 14:00 (EST)

CAVENG Didier.jpg

Didier Caveng

Head of Quality Assurance (UMEF)

Telework became the norm during the pandemic when the face-to-face was no longer mandatory. It soon was considered that it had many advantages, but also disadvantages. This webinar will aim to discuss this issue with an emphasis on the soft skills it makes necessary and especially on the new forms of leadership on which remote work depends because of the requirements for new workflows and their design. In an increasingly uncertain environment, agility becomes essential for the resilient leader: he will have to react more quickly and intelligently to external changes and unpredictable market dynamics. This leader will then be able to strongly evolve workflows to stay on the cutting edge of change and improve their productivity levels, efficiency, and digital experiences.

Education and inclusion: what COVID19 will change

Monday, 28th June 2021 at 14:00 (EST)

Sangdel-min.jpg

Djawed Sangdel

President UMEF

This webinar aims to discuss with professors and students at the Swiss UMEF University what should change for education and training after the COVID19 pandemic, knowing that for UNESCO, the Sustainable Development Goal 4 on education and the Education 2030 Framework of Action highlight inclusion and equity as the foundations of a quality education. How will we experience the generalization of blended learning between the campus-based and distance education, the transformation of learning strategies, the alignment with sustainable development goals and corporate social responsibility? How are new teaching tools such as serious games implemented to get better engagement and retention from students? Yet there are increasing numbers of voices arguing that videoconferencing courses would be counterproductive if they are too numerous; they require more energy and concentration. How can we finally avoid an education crisis after COVID19?

Is climate change denial over?

Monday, 26th July 2021 at 14:00 (EST)

AVT_Robert-Lanquar_8695_edited.jpg

Robert Lanquar

Director Research Center (SARCEO)

The health crisis has also been analysed as one of the consequences of biodiversity loss and the climate crisis.  Globalization puts all States at the mercy of catastrophic events that may happen all over the world: droughts in Australia, deforestation of the Amazon, fires in California, floods due to exceptional rains around the Mediterranean, melting sea ice in the Arctic and Greenland. Until 2020, many still denied climate change, supported by a former US President or a Brazilian President, despite the Paris Agreement or religious declarations such as the papal Encyclical "Laudato Si". Today, many politicians and leaders of large corporations reject this denial and implement strategies in their enterprises and organisations to reduce or adapt to climate change.  At the 26th annual UN Climate Conference (COP26) in Glasgow in November 2021, the world will return to the path taken with the Paris Agreement in 2015. This webinar will explain what the current issues are and how we can best avoid the disasters announced.

Webinars

Tourisme et relations internationales après la COVID19

Lundi, le 19 avril 2021 à 14h00 (EST)

Robert Lanquar

Directeur de Centre de recherche (SARCEO)

La fermeture des frontières et les restrictions sanitaires ont réduit à moins d’un quart le nombre des arrivées internationales de touristes en 2020 et au début de 2021. La reprise se fera quand les progrès de la vaccination contre la COVID19 rendront plus sûrs les voyages. Pourtant comment vont se renouer les négociations pour la reprise du tourisme international quand les Etats penchent de plus en plus pour leur tourisme national ? La position de l’OMT qui croit fermement à la résilience du tourisme est-elle la bonne ? Comment les compagnies aériennes vont-elles renégocier les règles, les droits et les taxes liées aux libertés définies dans la Convention de Chicago ?  Comment vont être repenser les libertés d’accostage de croisière ? Sur des critères comme les impacts sur l’environnement ou le sur-tourisme à Venise, Barcelone, Nice ou ailleurs ? Comment les formalités de frontière vont-elles évoluer au-delà de la sécurité contre le terrorisme ? Comment les coopérations transfrontalières pourront se développer pour consolider les synergies entre territoires frontaliers voisins ? Les experts participant à ce webinar tenteront de répondre à ces questions.

Le télétravail va-t-il bouleversé les soft skills et le leadership en entreprise?

Lundi, le 24 mai 2021 à 14h00 (EST)

CAVENG Didier.jpg

Didier Cavang

Responsable assurance qualité (UMEF)

Le télétravail est devenu la norme durant la pandémie quand le présentiel ne s’imposait plus de manière obligatoire. On s’est vite rendu compte qu’il présentait bien des avantages, mais aussi des inconvénients. Ce webinar aura pour objectif d’en débattre en mettant l’accent sur les soft skills qu’il rend nécessaire et surtout sur les nouvelles formes de leadership dont dépend le travail à distance en raison des exigences relatives aux nouveaux workflows et à leur design. Dans un contexte de plus en plus marqué par l’incertitude, l’agilité devient essentielle pour le leader résilient : il devra réagir plus rapidement et plus intelligemment aux changements externes et à la dynamique imprévisible du marché. Ce leader sera alors capable de faire évoluer les workflows de façon dynamique pour se tenir à la pointe du changement et améliorer leurs niveaux de productivité, leur efficacité et leurs expériences digitales.

Éducation et inclusion : ce que la COVID19 va changer

Lundi, le 28 juin 2021 à 14h00 (EST)

Sangdel-min.jpg

Djawed Sangdel

Président de l'UMEF

Ce webinar a pour objectif de débattre avec les professeurs et les étudiants de la Swiss UMEF University de ce qui devrait changer pour l’éducation et la formation après la pandémie de la COVID19, sachant que pour l’UNESCO, l'Objectif de développement durable 4 sur l'éducation et le Cadre d’action Education 2030 mettent en avant l'inclusion et l'équité comme les fondements d’une éducation de qualité. Comment va-t-on vivre la généralisation du blended learning entre le présentiel et l’enseignement à distance, la transformation des stratégies d’apprentissage, l’alignement sur les objectifs de développement durable et la responsabilité sociétale des entreprises ? Comment va-t-on mettre en place de nouveaux outils pédagogiques comme les « jeux sérieux (serious games) » pour obtenir un meilleur engagement et une rétention plus élevée de la part des étudiants ? Pourtant des voix se multiplient argumentant que les cours en visioconférences seraient contre-productifs s’ils sont trop nombreux ; ils demandent plus d’énergie et de concentration. Comment en définitive éviter une crise de l’éducation après la COVID19 ?

Le déni du changement climatique, c'est fini?

Lundi, le 26 juillet 2021 à 14h00 (EST)

AVT_Robert-Lanquar_8695_edited.jpg

Robert Lanquar

Directeur de Centre de recherche (SARCEO)

La crise sanitaire a été également analysée comme une des conséquences de la perte de biodiversité et de la crise climatique. La mondialisation met tous les Etats à la merci d’événements catastrophiques qui peuvent arriver partout dans le monde : sécheresses en Australie, déforestation de l’Amazonie, feux en Californie, inondations dues à des pluies exceptionnelles autour de la Méditerranée, fonte de la banquise en Arctique et au Groenland. Jusqu’en 2020, beaucoup niaient encore le changement climatique, appuyés par un ex- Président américain ou un Président brésilien, et ce malgré l’Accord de Paris ou des Déclarations religieuses comme l’Encyclique papale « Laudato Si ». Aujourd’hui, de très nombreux hommes politiques et dirigeants des grandes entreprises rejettent ce déni et mettent en œuvre des stratégies en faveur de la réduction ou de l’adaptation au changement climatique.  A la 26e conférence annuelle de l'ONU sur le climat (COP26) de Glasgow en novembre 2021, le monde entier reprendra le chemin pris avec l’Accord de Paris en 2015. Ce webinar expliquera quels sont les enjeux actuels et comment on pourra éviter au mieux les catastrophes annoncées.