Master of International Relations & Diplomacy

 

General Description:

The Master of International Relations and Diplomacy curriculum has a multi-disciplinary scope. Required courses cover the core disciplines of international relations, political science, economics, international law, international organizations, and diplomacy.

Participants focus on current affairs relating to international relations, economic development, and the complexity of negotiations, as well as the functioning of international institutions. Students examine the dynamics, structural features, humanitarian issues, international politics and international economics within the global community.

 

Training objective:

The programme offers students a comprehensive approach to the present international context including the political, economic, developmental and industrial scene. It builds leadership skills for managers in international organisations, in the corporate world and in the non-profit sector.

 

Opportunities:

At the end of their training, participants can occupy positions requiring complex decisions in international organisations, political institutions or corporations with an international activity.  All activities requiring a sustainable strategy are career targets.

 

Learning outcomes:

  1. Understand the practices of international relations and diplomacy based on economics, social theory, social science research methods, geopolitics, international crisis management, humanitarian intervention and conflict resolution, all factors which determine politics in international relations;
     

  2. Have a critical understanding of the basic premodern and modern histories of world powers;
     

  3. Understand the main concepts of international relations, including power, the international system, the balance of power, hegemony, conflicts, cooperation, integration, globalization, interdependence, dependence, regimes, equality, justice, sustainable development, political economy and international trade;
     

  4. Identify the key players in international relations: states, intergovernmental organizations, non-governmental organizations, transnational companies and civil society.
     

  5. Demonstrate knowledge of key dimensions, events and key processes of international relations in a historical context such as the formation of the modern state, the evolution of capitalism, the origins of the Cold War, the system that followed the end of the Cold War, the role of race, gender and class in the structure of the modern world.

 

recevoir le bulletin

 

get newsletter

Subscribe to Our Site
SWISS UMEF UNIVERSITY

 

Château d'Aïre

185 – 187 Route d’Aïre
1219 Aïre – Geneva, Switzerland

+41 (0) 22 732 07 12

info@umef-university.ch
(For general inquiries)

www.umef-university.ch

PRESIDENT OFFICE

 

Château d'Aïre

187 Route d’Aïre

1219 Aïre – Geneva, Switzerland

+41 (0) 22 732 07 22

president-office@umef-university.ch

(President office related inquiries)

www.umef-university.ch

ADMISSIONS OFFICE

Château d'Aïre

185 Route d’Aïre

1219 Aïre – Geneva, Switzerland

+41 (0) 22 732 07 12

admission@umef-university.ch
(For admission only)

www.umef-university.ch

Copyright © 2020 by SWISS UMEF UNIVERSITY. All Rights Reserved.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Vkontakte Social Icon
  • YouTube

Master en Relations Internationales et Diplomatie​

 

Descriptif général :

Le Master en Relations Internationales et Diplomatie (MRID) a une portée pluridisciplinaire. Les cours couvrent les disciplines fondamentales des relations internationales, sciences politiques, de l’économie, du droit international, des organisations internationales et de la diplomatie.

Les participants se concentrent sur l’actualité relative aux Relations Internationales, au niveau développement économique, et la complexité des négociations, ainsi que sur le fonctionnement des institutions internationales. Les étudiants examinent les dynamiques, les caractéristiques structurelles, les questions humanitaires ainsi que la politique et l’économie internationale au sein de la communauté mondiale.

 

Objectif de la formation :

Le programme permet aux étudiants d’avoir une approche globale du contexte international actuel y inclus la scène politique, économique, industrielle et du développement. Il aide les étudiants à construire des compétences de leadership pour le management dans les organisations internationales, dans le monde de l’entreprise et des organismes non-gouvernementaux.

 

Débouchés :

A la fin de leur formation, les participants peuvent occuper des postes nécessitant des prises de décision complexe dans des organisations internationales, des institutions politiques ou des entreprises ayant une activité internationale. Toutes les activités nécessitant une stratégie durable sont des cibles de carrière.

Compétences visées :

  1. Comprendre les pratiques des relations internationales et de la diplomatie basée sur l’économie, la théorie sociale, les méthodes de recherche en sciences sociales, la géopolitique, la gestion des crises internationales, l’intervention humanitaire et la résolution des conflits, tous des facteurs qui déterminent la politique dans les relations internationales ;
     

  2. Avoir une compréhension critique des histoires fondamentales prémodernes et modernes des puissances mondiales ;
     

  3. Comprendre les principaux concepts des relations internationales, y inclut la puissance, le système international, l’équilibre de la puissance, l’hégémonie, les conflits, la coopération, l’intégration, la mondialisation, l’interdépendance, la dépendance, les régimes, l’égalité, la justice, le développement durable, l’économie politique et le commerce international ;
     

  4. Identifier les acteurs clés en relations internationales les états, les organisations intergouvernementales, les organisations non-gouvernementales, les entreprises transnationales et la société civile ;
     

  5. Démontrer une connaissance des dimensions clés, évènements et processus clés des relations internationales dans un contexte historique tels que la formation de l’état moderne, l’évolution du capitalisme, les origines de la Guerre Froide, le système qui a suivit la fin de la Guerre Froide, le rôle de la race, du genre et des classes dans la structure du monde moderne.

 

recevoir le bulletin

 

get newsletter

Abonnez-vous à notre site
SWISS UMEF UNIVERSITY

 

Château d'Aïre

185 – 187 Route d’Aïre
1219 Aïre – Genève, Suisse

+41 (0) 22 732 07 12

info@umef-university.ch

(Pour des renseignements généraux)

www.umef-university.ch

BUREAU DU PRÉSIDENT

 

Château d'Aïre

187 Route d’Aïre
1219 Aïre – Genève, Suisse

+41 (0) 22 732 07 12

president-office@umef-university.ch

(Concernant le bureau du président)

www.umef-university.ch

BUREAU DES ADMISSIONS

Château d'Aïre

185 Route d’Aïre
1219 Aïre – Genève, Suisse

+41 (0) 22 732 07 12

admission@umef-university.ch
(Pour les admissions uniquement)

www.umef-university.ch

Copyright © 2021 par SWISS UMEF UNIVERSITY. Tous droits réservés.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Vkontakte Social Icon
  • YouTube