Our Faculty

UMEF is proud to count on a distinguished faculty that is active in academic research or consulting, which makes them capable of transferring cutting-edge ideas and practices to their students. UMEF is extremely rigorous in selecting its faculty, considering both their academic background, such as in which university they have taught, and their practical experience. Candidates have to sit for an interview and provide a class demonstration of their pedagogical skills if required.

 

UMEF relies on both full-time and part-time faculty. All faculty are evaluated by students and peers, which enables management to evaluate student satisfaction. In turn, faculty members are also given the opportunity to evaluate both students and management.​

Research Faculty

 

UMEF faculty undertakes research on issues of major interest to corporations and public institutions to determine the skills they require at present and in the foreseeable future. Thus, the research is an applied form of research and this is relayed to students as a transfer of skills. Four permanent faculty members, holding doctoral qualifications, are active in both lecturing and research as well as in academic and administrative affairs.

 

The majority of the adjunct faculty carries out applied research, such as policy papers and case studies and publishes in peer-reviewed and non-peer reviewed journals. This research can be used as guidelines for both students and industry. Research at UMEF is self-funded but adjunct faculty is free to request external funding.

Corps professoral

UMEF est fière de compter sur un corps professoral réputé, actif dans la recherche académique ou le conseil aux entreprises, ce qui lui permet de transférer aux étudiants des idées et des pratiques novatrices. UMEF prend un soin particulier dans le choix de ses professeurs, tenant compte aussi bien de leurs qualifications académiques, telles que les universités dans lesquelles ils ont dispensé des cours, que de leur expérience pratique. Les candidats doivent passer un entretien et dispenser un enseignement dans une classe, afin de démontrer leurs talents pédagogiques.

 

Le corps professoral d’UMEF comprend aussi bien des professeurs à plein temps que des chargés de cours. Tous les enseignants sont évalués par les étudiants et par un pair, ce qui permet à la direction d’évaluer la satisfaction des étudiants. A leur tour, les professeurs évaluent les étudiants et la direction.

Enseignants chercheurs

 

Le corps professoral d’UMEF entreprend de la recherche sur des sujets d’intérêt majeur pour les entreprises et les institutions publiques pour déterminer les compétences nécessaires actuellement et dans un avenir prévisible. Ainsi, cette recherche est une forme de recherche appliquée et est relayée aux étudiants dans le cadre d’un transfert de compétences. Quatre professeurs permanents, au bénéfice de doctorats, sont actifs tant dans l’enseignement que dans la recherche aussi bien dans les affaires académiques et administratives.

 

La majorité des professeurs à temps partiel sont impliqués dans la recherche appliquée, tels que des notes de recherche-action (research policy paper) et des études de cas et publient dans des revues peer-reviewed ou pas. Cette recherche peut être utilisée comme guide pour les étudiants et l’industrie. La recherche à UMEF est autofinancée mais les professeurs à temps partiel sont libres de demander des fonds extérieurs.